Winners | APG 2013 Creative Strategy Awards in association with Google

11 Oct 2013

On Thursday 10th October at No 1, Marylebone, the Planning community gathered to applaud the winners of this year’s awards. Chair of Judges, Adam Morgan, made a rousing keynote speech and presented the prizes with APG Chair Craig Mawdsley, and Chair of Short listers, Andy Nairn.


The Grand Prix, is the biggest accolade given at the awards. This year it was won by JWT with Banco Popular. It was the first time a case from outside the UK has won this accolade outright. JWT Puerto Rico took the top prize for a case that used the bank’s advertising budget to inspire the nation to change their attitude to work. They invited Puerto Rico’s top Salsa Band to change the lyrics to Puerto Rico’s most beloved song, turning it from a celebration of indolence to a celebration of hard work and enterprise. The new song was used in advertising, but also rose to number 1 in the charts.


There was an excellent representation from non-UK agencies amongst the top prize-winners and a substantial body of Planning learning – old and new – was in evidence.


The Stephen King Strategy Agency of the Year was awarded to BBH, London.

It is 20 years since the inauguration of the awards and to celebrate the best thinking from the last two decades we invited Planners to decide, by on-line voting, which of the Grand Prix winners best deserved the accolade ‘Grand Prix of Grand Prix’. The winner by a substantial margin was Craig Mawdsley, Joint CSO – AMVBBDO, London.


Read the coverage in the Guardian


The winners of the 2013 awards are as follows:


Benadryl – David Carr – JWT, London
Banco Popular – Luis Toledo – JWT Puerto Rico
British Airways – Ross Berthinussen, Lucia Komljen, Heather Alderson, Richard Lawson – BBH London
Polident – Charu Aggarwal Harish, Alix Toothman – Grey Asia Pacific; Grey London
Sprite – Evan Kearney – Memac Ogilvy and Mather
Vodafone – Hubert Boulos, Hatem El Kashef – JWT Cairo


Cancer Research UK – Emily Harlock, Katie Dallas – Abbott Mead Vickers BBDO London
Depaul UK – Benjamin Worden, Ant Harris – Publicis London
Dove – Michael Hines – Ogilvy and Mather, London
Fire Safety – Neasa Cunniffe – RKCR/Y&R, London
Paddy Power – Gavin May, Ruth Chadwick – Crispin Porter and Bogusky, London
Siemens Wind Power – Thom Dinsdale – M&C Saatchi, London
St John Ambulance – Matt Hoban, Carl Mueller – BBH London
Wrigley’s Extra – Owen Smith – BBDO China


Air New Zealand – Rory Gallery, Tobey Duncan – Host, Australia
Band-Aid – Cathy Clift – JWT New York
BBC Natural History – Alice Fraser – BBC Audience Planning
Changing Faces – David Mortimer, Rob Ellis – adam&eveDDB , London
Doritos – Tom White – Abbott Mead Vickers BBDO, London
EXIT Deutschland – Niklas Wecker – Grabarz und Partner, Germany
Hellmann’s – Frank Durden, Mollie Hill – Ogilvy and Mather, London; Ogilvy and Mather Brazil
Kaiser Chiefs – Jennifer Lewis – Wieden and Kennedy, London
Refuge – Simon Robinson – BBH London
Royal Borough of Greenwich – Tara Austin, Ogilvy and Mather, London
Women’s Aid – Matt Willifer, Emma Hurst – WCRS, London

Special Prizes
Denise Williams Award for Best Presentation to Judges – Banco Popular
Google Planning Innovator Award – Benadryl
Best Channel Strategy – Vodafone
Best Brief or Input – Polident
Best Use of Research – Polident
Millward Brown Award for Best Insight – Fire Safety
Guardian Award for Progressive Thinking – Depaul
Best Commercial Impact – Paddy Power
Thinkbox award for Brand Impact – Cancer Research UK
Best written Paper – Doritos

Please reload

Read More

Please reload

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • APG Podcast
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon